Industrial, logistical developments to shine at 7th PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia)

General public enjoined to pick out the next wave of stellar Malaysian property developers, designs and projects

Guests watch the intermission at the 6th Annual PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia) gala dinner and ceremony at the Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur in April 2019
  • Public nominations last through 21 February 2020, ahead of the exclusive black-tie gala dinner set for 10 April
  • Industrial property expected to be focal point of annual awards gala
  • More than 500 guests to come together at the historic Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

The PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia), presented by Kohler, reiterated the call for nominations to its seventh edition, ahead of the exclusive awards ceremony and black-tie gala dinner on Friday, 24 July 2020, at the Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

Malaysia’s premier real estate awards programme enjoins the general public to submit their candidates for the finest developers, developments and design in the country, representing not only Klang Valley but also the dynamic regions of Penang and Iskandar. Public nominations, which have been open since 1 December, will close on 21 February.

The 7th PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia) follows a successful event last year that conferred trophies on 38 developers and projects and handed out 25 Highly Commended citations across 28 categories.

The 2020 PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia) is expected to highlight industrial and logistic categories once more as the segments become brighter spots in the country’s property sector. With yields of nine to 10 percent, industrial properties are set to shine as Malaysia solidifies into a logistics hub in the region.

More: Malaysia’s industrial property sector to witness substantial growth in 2020

One of the most noteworthy categories at the 6th edition of the Awards last year was the Special Recognition for Industrial/Logistic Development, bestowed on the winning properties of Sendayan TechValley, Area Logistics Hub @ Ampang, KL, and i-Park@Indahpura.

Well-connected, sprawling projects are also expected to figure prominently in this year’s selection of awardees, following transit-oriented developer MRCB Land’s win as Best Developer at the 2019 PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia). Tuan Hizwan, political secretary to the Malaysian housing minister, was in attendance last year, delivering a keynote address encouraging developers to build more mixed-use and mass market properties.

Other contended categories at the 2019 Awards included Best Hotel Development, won by Four Seasons Place Kuala Lumpur. The property went on to win the title’s regional equivalent at the 14th PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards Grand Final in November in Bangkok, Thailand.

Key dates for the 2020 edition are:

  • 1 December 2019 – Nominations and Entries Open
  • 21 February 2020 – Nominations Close
  • 1 May 2020 – Entries Close
  • 11-22 May 2020 – Site Inspections
  • 25 May 2020 – Final Judging
  • 24 July 2020 – Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • 20 November 2020 – Grand Final Gala Dinner & Ceremony in Bangkok, Thailand

The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur returns as the venue of the 7th PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia). More than 500 C-level and senior industry figures will come together at the historic hotel, a heritage site in Malaysia.

Prem Kumar, executive director at Jones Lang Wootton, will resume his duties as chairperson of the PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia). As such, he will lead an independent panel of 11 industry experts in deliberations.

The 2020 PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards (Malaysia) features the support of platinum sponsor Kohler; official portal partner; official magazine PropertyGuru Property Report; and official supervisor BDO, one of the world’s largest auditing and accounting firms.

Editor’s Note: To ensure public health and safety, the Asia Property Awards team has decided to postpone the gala dinner and awards ceremony on 24 July 2020. Other relevant dates in this announcement have also been updated.

For more information, email [email protected] or visit the official website: