PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards Reception pay homage to the country’s best and brightest of 2021

Winners of the 9th edition, along with sponsors and judges, gathered to commemorate the sector’s accomplishments in the past year 

The past couple of years has put the Philippine real estate market, which heavily relied on face-to-face operations for decades, to the ultimate test. With the pandemic prompting businesses to close and individuals to isolate themselves in their own homes, leaders had to reevaluate years-old proven strategies and dared to bet on the wonders of technology. 

Though the transition did come with some setbacks, these tycoons showed no signs of giving up, urging their employees to remain resolute in their passion to meet the ever-changing demands of users. 

To acknowledge their efforts during such a trying time, the PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards team hosted a virtual format of the 9th PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards in early November 2021, broadcasting their achievements to over 44,00 viewers from across the globe. 

Fortunately, a few months later in the beginning of 2022, the government opened its borders, signifying a positive turnaround for the economy and the real estate sector. 

With the improving situation, we set out to organise a safe, intimate gathering of our 2021 winners on 23 March 2022 at Fairmont Makati, a much-needed face-to-face celebration of the sector’s recovery, with these leaders on the frontlines. 

To ensure a safe, worry-free celebration without overcrowding, we limited the number of guests invited. Everyone present at the event, including the hotel staff and production team, were also mandated to show proof of vaccinations, take antigen tests prior to the event, and wear masks throughout the night. 

Welcome speech by Jules Kay, general manager of PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards & events (left) and congratulatory message by Mary Ann Marquez-Rabonza, senior commercial manager of our platinum sponsor Kohler (upper right).

Leading the night’s festivities as Master of Ceremonies was none other than the talented Issa Litton, who welcomed the guests inside the ballroom at roughly around 7:00 pm. The atmosphere was electric, with everyone in their finest frocks, meeting their peers after two years of isolation. 

The reception commenced with a special video treat produced by the organisers, which showcased highlights of the 2021 virtual gala. The General Manager of PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards & Events and the gracious host for the evening, Jules Kay, followed with a cheerful welcome note. Shortly thereafter, a congratulatory message was delivered by Mary Ann Marquez-Rabonza, the senior commercial manager of our platinum sponsor Kohler. 

The hotel staff then served a delectable four-course meal of baby romaine Caesar salad, smoked tomato soup, pan-roasted sea bass, and dark chocolate earl grey cake. 

More: 10th PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards programme launches with resurgent optimism in the real estate market

Less than an hour later, Issa began to call up the leading developers one by one for the awards presentation. 

SM Development Corporation, the winner of the highly anticipated title Best Developer 2021 and the company with the most number of wins that year, was among the leading developers who made an appearance. 

The esteemed Philippines Real Estate Personality of the Year winner, Ramon Ang of San Miguel Corporation, was unavailable to join us that night, but he did grace us with his presence via a short video clip.

Platinum sponsor Kohler and gold sponsor Boysen also showcased their work through video presentations in between the ceremony. 

Winning developers of the 9th annual PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards 2021, together with the jury panel and partners.

Among the major names joining the emcee on stage to present honours to the winners and Highly Commended recipients were Awards’ General Manager Jules Kay; newly-appointed 2022 Jury Chairperson Cyndy Tan Jarabata; HLB Philippines’ Lloyd Tan; Kohler’s Mary Ann Marquez-Rabonza; Boysen Paints’ Enrico Micu and Vergel Dyoco; and members of the jury Kathleen Obcemea, Jean Jacquelyn Nathania de Castro, Carlo Cordaro, Jaime Cura, and Luis Enrique Mangosing.

To wrap up the night, the organisers resurrected a time-honoured tradition of the Awards, a group photo with the award-winning developers, sponsors, and judges. Truly a memorable way to end the night’s festivities. 

Heard of any outstanding residential, commercial, or industrial projects in the Philippines? Nominate them for the 10th annual PropertyGuru Philippines Property Awards on or before 5 August 2022. To know more, visit  

Gynen Kyra Toriano, Digital Content Manager at PropertyGuru, wrote this article. For more information, email: [email protected].