Leading real estate developers come together at the 10th PropertyGuru Asia Awards Malaysia in collaboration with iProperty 2023.

Developers from various regions convened to commemorate remarkable accomplishments in the industry, anticipating the possibility of being honoured with one of the awards presented

Developers gather to celebrate the accomplishments within the country’s real estate sector.

On November 24th, distinguished professionals representing various sectors of Malaysia’s real estate industry gathered at The Majestic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur for the 10th PropertyGuru Asia Awards Malaysia in Partnership with iProperty 2023. This event celebrated the accomplishments within the country’s real estate sector.

The real estate landscape in Malaysia consistently achieves new milestones in its pursuit of excellence, setting benchmarks and advocating for sustainable development. The awards ceremony serves as tangible evidence of the industry’s noteworthy successes, recognizing outstanding achievements, fostering collaboration, and influencing the trajectory of real estate in Malaysia.

Host Terence Dass starts the night with welcoming remarks.

The event commenced at 6:00 PM, with host Terence Dass extending a warm welcome. Following his opening remarks, the focus shifted to a video presentation offering a glimpse into the evening’s upcoming activities. After a brief explanation of the awards format and the evening’s schedule, the initial speakers took the stage.

Mr. Jules Kay started the roster of speakers for the evening as the current General Manager at PropertyGuru Asia Property Awards & Events. Subsequent speakers included Mr. Hari Krishnan, the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of PropertyGuru Group, Datuk Ar. Ezumi Harzani Ismail, the President of the Malaysian Institute of Architects for the term 2020-2022, and Mr. John Ler, the International Contact Partner at HLB Ler Lum Chew.

Dinner is served as the panel of judges is introduced.

Mr. Dass expressed gratitude and provided a dinner reminder while introducing the Independent Panel of Judges. Chairperson of the panel was previously mentioned Datuk Ar. Ezumi Harzani Ismail, with Principal and Managing Partner of Tia & Noordin Chris Tia as Vice Chairperson. The other members of the Central Panel included the Chief Growth Officer of JLL Property Services Christophe Vicic, President of the Malaysia Proptech Association Dr. Daniele Gambero, Principal ER Consult Sr Engad Ravana, President of the Malaysian Institute of Property & Facility Managers PMgr Sr Haji Ishak Ismail, Chairman of Ho Chin Soon Research Ho Chin Soon, President of the Royal Institution of Surveyors Malaysia 2017-2018 Dato’ Sr Lau Wai Seang, Independent Property Consultant Sr Low Han Hoe, Founder and Principal of Arkitek Mustapha Kamal Ar. Ts. PRB. Mustapha Kamal bin Zulkarnain, President of the Institute of Landscape Architects Malaysia Assoc. Prof. LAr. Dr. Nor Atiah Ismail, President of the Malaysian Institute of Planners Datin TPr Hjh Noraida Saludin, Immediate Past President of the Institution of Engineers Malaysia Ir. Ong Ching Loon, President of Malaysia GBC Ar (Dr) Serina Hijjas, President of the Association of Valuers, Property Managers, Estate Agents and Property Consultants in the Private Sector Malaysia Sr. Subramaniam A/L Arumugam, Partner from Tan Chap & Associates Tan Hui Yin, and Managing Director of Perunding ZAB Sdn Bhs Ir. Dr. Zulhkiple A Bakar.

Before the awards were officially announced, Mr. Dass greeted the different sponsors and collaborators in recognition of their efforts to help bring the event to life. He then gave a reminder that the panel of judges had conducted on-site assessments of the nominated projects within a specific time frame in order to decide each award’s recipient.

A diverse array of 42 awards was presented across various categories such as design, development, developer, special awards, and the best of Malaysia, portal’s and publisher’s choice, and people’s choice. The announcement ceremony commenced with the People’s Choice Award given to the ten developers who embodied the principles of trust, quality, and value for money as voted by the public.

The night then proceeded with the design category, capping off with the 2023 Malaysia Real Estate Personality of the Year title being given to the Founder and Advisor at Berjaya Corporation Berhad, Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Vincent Tan. 

WCT Land Sdn Bhd is awarded the title of Best Developer in Malaysia 2023.

Awards under the development category were next, followed by a video from supporting partner REHDA Institute. The ceremony then arrived at the awarding of the best of Malaysia, the portal’s choice awards, the announcements of special recognitions, and the developer awards. The long list of honours was capped off by the title of Best Developer in Malaysia being awarded to WCT Land Sdn Bhd.

The event concluded with a group photo featuring the evening’s winners and esteemed guests assembled on stage. In that joyous moment, they extended their congratulations to the award recipients.

Winners and distinguished guests gather in a celebratory photo.

The Property Report editors wrote this article. For more information, email: [email protected].